Doctoral College

Doctoral College in Schleswig-Holstein

The Schleswig-Holstein Doctoral College is an association of the state's four technical colleges and three universities with the aim of strengthening research collaborations across universities and carrying out doctorates.


  • Fachhochschule Kiel
  • Fachhochschule Lübeck
  • Hochschule Flensburg
  • Fachhochschule Westküste
  • Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel
  • Europa-Universität Flensburg
  • Universität zu Lübeck


The organization has been in development since its founding in November 2017.


The amendment to the Higher Education Act in 2016 created the possibility of pursuing doctorates in joint research teams from technical colleges and universities. The approach of granting an inter-university college as a public corporation an institutional right to award doctorates is a first in Germany. This gives professors at universities of applied sciences the opportunity to be responsible for supervising and assessing doctorates.